top of page

Indie Talk

  • Writer's pictureIndie Music News Reporter

Vargen To Release - 'Love/Leave – 11 Songs of Bob Dylan' On Vinyl and CD Friday, June 5

Vargen's Critically Acclaimed 'Tänk inte efter (Don't Think Twice - Bob Dylan in Swedish)' Will Be Released In English With An Additional Two Songs. (Varberg, Sweden)

Vargen ('The Wolf' in Swedish) is the stage and recording name of singer-songwriter Reine Johansson. After receiving international recognition for his and fellow singer Mia Rosengren's translations on 'Tänk inte efter (Don't Think Twice - Bob Dylan in Swedish),' Vargen recorded all nine tracks from that album in English. The band also recorded two new songs "One Too Many Mornings" and "Abandoned Love." Love / Leave - 11 Songs of Bob Dylan will be released worldwide on vinyl and CD on Friday June 5.

Musically, the songs vary between Americana, country, and rock. Vargen aimed for a timeless sound on Dylan's songs. To hold the album together conceptually, they focused on the universal themes love, loss, leaving and longing.

"Strike another match, go start anew'"- Bob Dylan

The album was produced by Andreas Alm at Teknikcirkus Studio in Skällinge. Vargen hopes to promote the album with a vinyl store tour in Scandinavia, Germany and United Kingdom as soon as the pandemic is over with further aspirations of a tour in the U.S. and Canada in 2021. Dan Kristensen (guitar, lap steel and dobro) is credited as an essential contributor. Other performers include: Reine Johansson, vocals and harmonica; Mia Rosengren, vocals; Andreas Alm Rhythm, guitar, keyboards, percussion, and sounds; Zacharias Sjöberg, piano; Jan Lundin, bass; Måns Broma, drums; Daddy Musesa, congas and bongos; Anna Vild Harmonica, backing vocals (Love Minus Zero); and Johann Laux, drums (Abandoned Love).

Livestream Facebook Show:

Vargen will celebrate the release with a livestream show on their Facebook page on Friday June 5. (7 PM CET, 1 PM US CT).

Official Release Date:

Vinyl/CD Worldwide: Friday June 5, 2020 Tracklist: 01 It's All Over Now, Baby Blue - Music Video & Single / Feb 21 02 I Threw It All Away 03 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight 04 Don't Think Twice, It's All Right 05 One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below) 06 Abandoned Love - Single/ March 13 07 It Ain't Me, Babe 08 Tomorrow Is a Long Time 09 One Too Many Mornings - Single/ March 13 10 Knockin' on Heaven's Door 11 Love Minus Zero / No Limit


Links on Songwhip

For more information on Vargen, please visit their website.

About Vargen Vargen ('The Wolf' in Swedish) is the stage and recording name of singer-songwriter Reine Johansson. Vargen's music encompasses Americana, country, blues, folk, rock. His album debut Sånger från Natten, sånger från Dan (2017) featured new music set to Swedish author Dan Andersson's (1888-1920) darker poems. Tänk inte efter (Don't Think Twice - Bob Dylan in Swedish (Vinyl/CD/DL 2019) featured new Dylan-approved translations by Vargen who collaborated with singer Mia Rosengren on the project. Tänk inte efter received critical acclaim outside Scandinavia. Vargen has also collaborated with Anna Vild on the single "To Stockholm From L.A." and released the EP Bluesliv (both 2019). Vargen's music can be found on all major music streaming services.

Contact: Reine Johansson / phone: +46 (0) 738005342 |mail:



bottom of page